Gig Guide

Attending Events Whilst Covid Infections remain High

Although we are excited to be reopening at long last, we are also aware that some risks remain from the Covid situation, especially while the number of infections remains high and is likely to increase over the coming months.

We are dedicated to ensuring that the Crypt is as safe as possible for our customers, artists, and staff during this time and have carried out detailed risk assessments to formulate measures that will make our venue as safe as we can.

We cannot escape the facts that The Crypt is an underground space, that it doesn’t have a highly efficient ventilation system, and that social distancing isn’t really possible in our unique setting. To achieve the best possible level of safety we think that the following measures are reasonable and will allow the Crypt experience we all love to return to as near as is possible to how it was before Covid.

Therefore, while the number of COVID infections are increasing we are reducing our audience size and putting the following measures in place:

- Pre-booked tickets only - we won’t be selling tickets on the door.

- We may require you to wear masks whilst in the venue.

- We’re going cash free and will only be accepting card payments at the bar and kitchen.

All customers must be able to prove that they have had either:

* 2 x COVID-19 vaccinations 14 days before attending,

* OR a recent negative lateral flow test - at most 48 hours before coming.

Evidence you can use of double vaccination is via the NHS or other health app that records your vaccination status on a smartphone - or bring your completed vaccination card. To prove a negative test, you can use the text message or email confirmation you receive after registering your test result. Alternatively, you can get an NHS Covid Pass - an official letter confirming your status from HERE (click)

If you can’t provide one of these on arrival, you will not be allowed in. We cannot give a refund on tickets for those refused entry.

Please plan ahead for your visit. Lateral flow tests are easy to do at home and give a result within 30 minutes. Tests can be collected free from most pharmacies or ordered online HERE (click)

If you have any questions we are here to help.


Marama cafe band

Led by accordionist Pete Watson this band combines top musicians from London's gypsy jazz, world music and tango scenes to create a unique sound world embracing swing, Romanian and Hungarian folk tunes, tango and quirky original compositions. Featuring Pete Watson (accordion); David Ahmed (guitar); Frank Biddulph (violin) and Julia Doyle (bass).

Pete Watson was born in Camberwell and grew up in London. He has played or recorded with Gilad Atzmon, Benoit Viellefon, Madonna, Vasile Stanescu, Cindy Douglas, Hamza Namira and many others in the UK and Europe. He will be a familiar face having worked at the Crypt for many years.

Frank Biddulph (violin) was a founder member of the groups Mukka and Fantazia with many years experience of middle eastern and north African music.

David Ahmed (guitar) is well known on the UK gypsy jazz scene having appeared at many guitar festivals in the UK and Europe.

Julia Doyle (bass) has worked with the tango institution Los Mareados for over two decades and in the free improvisation world.

IMPORTANT - special Covid measures are in place temporarily - please read the "Attending events . . ." info at the top of this page before booking tickets.


Click here to buy


Jas Kayser

Tonight's concert features 25-year-old British drummer Jas Kayser. Mentored by Terri-Lyne Carrington and recently moved between London and Panama City, where she taught at pianist Danilo Perez’s Jazz Foundation, she’s also a composer and band leader who loves to explore the commonality between jazz and afro-beat. Jas also features in bands such as Jorja Smith, Poppy Ajudha, Alfa Mist and had a starring role on drums alongside Lenny Kravitz in the official video for his song Low.

Jas’s most recent release is her sultry new Debut EP Unforced Rhythm of Grace, available now on all platforms. It has been supported by Jamie Cullum, BBC 3, Jazz FM and Jazzwise.

IMPORTANT - special Covid measures are in place temporarily - please read the "Attending events . . ." info at the top of this page before booking tickets.


Click here to buy


Emma Rawicz Quintet

We are delighted to present the Emma Rawicz Quintet with Emma Rawicz (saxes), James Copus (Trumpet), Ivo Neame (Piano), Conor Chaplin (Bass), & Jay Davies (Drums).

Emma Rawicz is an award winning young saxophonist and composer, already making waves on the UK music scene. She has been described as 'a force to be reckoned with' (Jazzwise) and 'a fast rising star' (London Jazz News). At the age of 19 she has already recorded her eagerly awaited debut album featuring Ant Law, made up entirely of her original compositions, due to be released in early 2022. She has also created a name for herself both as a bandleader and a sideman. A new arrival on the scene, she has already made an impact, regularly playing at multiple major jazz venues including Ronnie Scott's, Pizza Express and The Jazz Cafe with a wide range of established musicians. Emma is a recipient of the 2021 Drake Yolanda Award.

Emma's influences range from modern jazz and fusion to folk and soul, key figures in her musical development including Chris Potter, Ari Hoenig, Kenny Garrett, Joe Henderson, Chick Corea and more.

Growing up in rural North Devon, Emma didn't discover jazz until the age of 15, and didn't pick up the tenor saxophone until a year later, but had spent her childhood otherwise immersed in music as a violinist, playing largely folk and classical music.

Emma is a natural performer and will be presenting music from her upcoming album, "Incantation” alongside tracks from her new project. Her music has a unique sound, fusing all her many influences, and her compositions range from lilting Afro Cuban inspired grooves to hard hitting funk numbers.

photo by - @DrakeYolanDaAWD and @mariolazoladz

IMPORTANT - special Covid measures are in place temporarily - please read the "Attending events . . ." info at the top of this page before booking tickets.


Click here to buy